Best Picture:

La La Land
Manchester by the Sea
Moonlight
Hacksaw Ridge
Hell or High Water
Fences
Arrival
Lion
Hidden Figure

My Score: 1 wrong. I had guessed Silence would get in over Lion.

Snubs/Surprises: This category barely has a snub in it, People will say Deadpool is a snub but it’s only a snub if you really thought it’d nominated, and I don’t think anoyone really thought it’d be nominated.Silence Might be considered a snub.

Best Actor:

Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)
Ryan Gosling (La La Land)
Denzel Washington (Fences)
Andrew Garfield (Hacksaw Ridge)
Viggo Mortenson (Captain Fantastic)

My Score: 1 wrong. I had guessed Joel Edgerton (Loving) would get in over Viggo Mortenson.

Snubs/Surprises: I thought Edgerton would get in over Mortenson considering the films they were in, but I’m happy, Viggo gave the better performance in my opinion. Some may say Tom Hanks is the snub here for Sully.

Best Actress:

Emma Stone (La La Land)
Natalie Portman (Jackie)
Isabelle Huppert (Elle)
Meryl Streep (Florence Foster Jenkins)
Ruth Negga (Loving)

My Score: 1 wrong. I had guessed Amy Adams (Arrival) would get in over Meryl Streep.

Snubs/Surprises: It’s a God damn travesty that Meryl Streep got in for Florence Foster Jenkins over Amy Adams. Meryls performance was just fine, in a movie that was just fine. Arrival gets a Best Picture nom, but there is no Arrival without Amy Adams. Anette Bennings performance in 20th Century Women is supposed to be incredible, and Oscar worthy.

Supporting Actor:

Mahershala Ali (“Moonlight”)
Jeff Bridges (“Hell or High Water”)
Lucas Hedges (“Manchester by the Sea”)
Dev Patel (“Lion”)
Michael Shannon (“Nocturnal Animals”

My Score: 1 wrong. I had guessed Aaron-Taylor Johnson (Nocturnal Animals) would get in over Michael Shannon.

Snubs: No snubs, either one of them would get in for Nocturnal Animals, sucks for Johnson, but both great performances.

Supporting Actress:

Viola Davis (“Fences”)
Naomie Harris (“Moonlight”)
Nicole Kidman (“Lion”)
Octavia Spencer (“Hidden Figures”)
Michelle Williams (“Manchester By the Sea”)

My Score: 0 Wrong

Snubs/Surprises: None really for me, I haven’t seen 20th Century Women yet, but people say Greta Gerwigs performance should have been nominated.

Best Director

Damien Chazelle (La La Land)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea)
Dennis Villeneuve (Arrival)
Mel Gibson (Hacksaw Ridge)

My Score: 1 wrong, I had guessed Denzel Washington (Fences) would get in over Mel Gibson.

Snubs/Surprises: I can’t believe Mel Gibson got in, In my opinion I think he deserved it over Denzel, but his history makes it a big surprise. Denzel deserves it because he directed himself to an Oscar nomination, but Mel Gibson definitely had a lot more work on his film and delivered a great product.

Animated Feature

“Kubo and the Two Strings” (Laika/Focus Features)
“Moana” (Disney)
“The Red Turtle” (Studio Ghibli/Sony Pictures Classics)
“Zootopia” (Disney)
“My Life as a Zuchinni”

My Score: 1 Wrong, I had guessed Sing over My Life as a Zuchinni

Snubs/Surprises: Finding Dory is a snub, although I haven’t seen The Red Turtle or My Life as a Zuchinni. I knew Finding Dory wouldn’t get in, yet I still got one wrong, by guessing Sing would get the nom.

Best Documentary:

“13th”

“Life, Animated”

“OJ: Made in America”

“I am Not your Negro”

“Fire at Sea”

My Score: 2 wrong. I had guessed The Ivory Game and Zero Days over Fire at Sea and I am not your Negro.

 

My Final Score: 36/44


Thanks for Reading!

Find Mitch on Twitter @mitchydaily

Like The Hollywood Persona on Facebook

Follow the official The Hollywood Persona Twitter page @THPersona

 

 

One thought on “Oscar Nominees: Surprises, snubs and my score

Leave a Reply

