Okay, I know, music is very selective, and my list may not match most peoples favorite Christmas songs, but I’ve wanted to throw my two cents in for a while. I have over 25 Christmas CD’s, I bring them out each Christmas, But who listens to CD’s anymore, right?

I Have my playlist, that I am consistently adding and removing songs from. I ENJOY Christmas music, usually more than the next person, It’s not as easy to find Christmas music lovers today. I can’t blame them though, Christmas songs are generally generic and bland. Some Christmas songs are downright terrible, and you no one, not even the biggest Christmas lover, can listen to Christmas as much as it’s shoved down our throats.

To get you started making your own Christmas playlist, I’ve compiled a list of what I consider to be the best Christmas songs, and some versions of those songs that are a tradition in my house at Christmas time.

10.) River

Original: Joni Mitchell

My Favorite versions: Sarah McLachlan, Joni Mitchell, Cee Lo Green, Glee (Lea Michele)

9.) O Come, All Ye Faithful/Adestes Fideles

Original: 1700’s hymn

My Favorite Versions: Elvis Presley, Faith Hill, Frank Sinatra, Johnny Cash, Bing Crosby, Andrea Bocelli

8.) Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)

Original: Darlene Love

My Favorite versions: Michael Buble, Lady Antebellum, Mariah Carey

7.) Tie – Little Drummer Boy & Peace on Earth/Little Drummer boy

Little Drummer boy Original: Trapp Family Singers (1951)

Peace on Earth/Little  Drummer Boy Original: David Bowie and Bing Crosby (1977)

My Favorite Version – Little Drummer Boy: Faith Hill, Jennifer Nettles & Idina Menzel, Josh Groban

6.)  The First Noel

Favorite versions: Bing Crosby, Josh Groban & Faith Hill, Sarah McLachlan, Andy Williams, Rascal Flatts,

5.)  I’ll Be Home For Christmas

Original: Bing Crosby (1943)

Favorite Versions: Bing Crosby, Sarah McLachlan, Elvis Presley, Michael Buble, Colbie Caillat, Kelly Clarkson, Martina McBride, Darius Rucker

4.) The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire)(Merry Christmas to You)

Favorite versions: Lee Ann Womack, Josh Groban, Celine Dion, Nat King Cole, Andrea Bocelli & Natalie Cole, Bing Crosby, Michael Buble, Martina McBride

3.) Silent Night

Favorite Versions: The Fray, Johnny Cash, Bing Crosby, Frank Sinatra, Elvis Presley, Michael Buble, Stevie Nicks, Five For Fighting

2.) White Christmas

Favorite Version: Bing Crosby, Perry Como, Elvis Presley, Keith Urban, Michael Buble & Shania Twain, Andrea Bocelli, Martina McBride

1.) Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas

Favorite Versions: Judy Garland, Kermit The Frog, Sam Smith, Michael Buble, Sarah McLachlan, John Denver & Rowlf, Frank Sinatra

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

