Best Films of the Year

Collages2.jpg

At the end of every year I find myself saying “This was actually a good year for film”, I want to say that about 2015 but I can’t. 2015 was honestly a let down for me, the films many of us were looking forward too failed or didn’t live up to expectations. It was many of the smaller films from 2015 that really wowed us, i.e Ex Machina, It Follows, Slow West.

When we look back on 2015 we will remember Straight Outta Compton, Mad Max: Fury Road, Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Ex Machina, and maybe The Revenant. 2015. In my opinion 2015 will not be exactly a memorable year for movies, I can say that boldly because in ten years when we look back on it no one will remember that I said this. Don’t get me wrong, I love the films in my top ten, and even some in my top 20.

If you’re looking at my best of the year list and wondering how I came to my decisions, well, let me tell you. You may be looking at my list and say “Mitch, Brooklyn is ten times better than Bone Tomahawk”. On a film making level, I may agree with you, but a best of the year list is one part personal taste, and one part good film making.

Without Further Ado, the moment I’ve been waiting for, The Best Films of the year:

  1. Mad Max: Fury Road (A+)
  2. Room (A+)
  3. Ex Machina (A)
  4. The Revenant (A)
  5. Youth (A)
  6. The Hateful Eight (A)
  7. Mommy (A)
  8. Straight outta Compton (A)
  9. It Follows (A-)
  10. Steve Jobs (A-)

The Next Ten:

  1. Bone Tomahawk (A-)
  2. Brooklyn (A-)
  3. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl (A-)
  4. The End of the Tour (B+)
  5. Slow West (A-)
  6. Mistress America (A-)
  7. Star Wars: The Force Awakens (A-)
  8. The Bridge of Spies (A-)
  9. Spotlight (A)
  10. Jurassic World (A-)

Honorable Mentions: The Stanford Prison Experiment (A-), Sicario (A-), Cop Car (A-), Macbeth (B+), Amy (A), Creed (A), Dope (B+), Tales of the Grim Sleeper (A-), Inside Out (B+), Everest (B), The Big Short (A)

Stay tuned for a bunch of content the month of February!


Thanks for Reading!

Follow the official The Hollywood Persona Twitter page @THPersona

Find Mitch on Twitter @mitchydaily

Like The Hollywood Persona on Facebook

Leave a Reply

