Worst Films of 2015

Worst of the year1

over 130 films seen by me, and I’ve boiled it down to the worst of the worst, the worst ten films of 2015 are below.

I’m sure you’re wondering what almost made the cut? I had the dinosaur B-movie Extinction on the list, but I didn’t feel as if it was ever meant to be a movie let alone a good one. The Norman Reedus end of days film Air was really just a complete bore, and completely uninteresting. Landmine Goes Click could have made it, but I don’t really want anyone to know about that film (if they don’t already). Sinister 2 could be on here but it had just a few good moments.

Kristen Wiig’s dramatic film Welcome to Me was just interesting enough, and boasted a good performance from Wiig, so it was not completely bad. Seventh Son was bad, but watchable, and The Lazarus Effect had some decent aspects but could have been so much better and maybe scary. I also considered Pan, Tales of Halloween, Self/Less, and The Green Inferno.

10. Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension

Why so bad?: This was the last in a series that has had its ups and downs, but managed to start a trend in film and scare a lot of people. So when they decided to end the series, you’d think someone in charge would be interested in making a good film, or at least a watchable one.

The sixth and final in the Paranormal franchise is terribly boring, it’s not scary, and it barely feels as if it ties up any of the loose ends that fans of the series were hoping to have answered.

My Grade: F

9. The Culling

Why so bad?: It feels as if someone found a farmhouse they thought was kinda scary, threw together a half assed script, and filmed it all with a potato. Having this on here might be cheating, because… well who even saw this thing besides me? I barely remember anything from it now, as I saw it January 2015, but it was bad enough to stick with me.

My Grade: F

8. Terminator Genisys

Why so Bad?: I love Arnold, and the Terminator series, so I really had high hopes that this could be good. Sadly, Arnold was really the only decent thing about the film. Terminator Genisys is A loud, nonsensical, over-dramatic, poorly paced, miscast action film you’ll forget 10 minutes after seeing.

My Grade: D-

7. Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials

Why so Bad?: The first film was better than anything The Divergent series or Twilight ever did, not high praise, but for Young adult adaptations it seems high. The sequel is two hours of walking in the desert hoping they won’t be captured and brought back to the people who captured them originally. Spoiler alert, they get captured at the end and brought back to the people that had them at the beginning of the film, I just saved you 2 hours.

My Grade: D

6. 50 Shades of Grey

Why so Bad?: Should I blame a movie for being bad if it was based on a terrible book? I’m going to, for the pure fact that it shouldn’t have been made in the first place. The acting, directions, camera work etc., they’re all fine. It’s the damn story that is so utterly stupid and illogical that even Dakota Johnson naked didn’t make it any better.

My Grade: D-

5. Into The Grizzly Maze

Why so Bad?: Why would you make a movie about killer bears if you’re never actually going to have a bear on set, or even try to make a CGI bear? Why pay 4 decent actors just to walk around the woods for an hour and a half? It’s really, really sad.

My Grade: F

4. The Divergent Series: Insurgent

Why so Bad?: Just like Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials, Divergent: Insurgent is basically two hours of walking and talking, on top of that though it’s complete nonsense, and I can assure you I won’t be watching the next in the series.

My Grade: D+

3. Hot Pursuit

Why so Bad?: Not a SINGLE laugh to be had, a plot we’ve seen time and time again, sexist, and Vergara is never not annoying.

My Grade: F

2. The Boy Next Door

Why so Bad?: I laughed more during The Boy Next Door than I did during Hot Pursuit, and I know I wasn’t supposed to be laughing. Although it is a harrowing tale, I think the moral of the story is this: If you’ve been cheated on by your husband, don’t fall for the good looking guy next door, he’ll try to kill you. But if you do fall for him, you’re estranged husband will save you and you guys will get back together.

My Grade: F

1. Fantastic Four

Why so Bad?: When the reviews began pouring in I couldn’t believe how poor they were, it couldn’t be that bad. It was that bad, even worse. It’s so bland, boring and generic that you could have put any superhero in the place of the four in this film and called it any other name. It’s a disappointment to everyone involved, especially director Josh Trask

My Grade:  F

Stay tuned for a bunch of content the month of February!


Thanks for Reading!

Follow the official The Hollywood Persona Twitter page @THPersona

Find Mitch on Twitter @mitchydaily

Like The Hollywood Persona on Facebook

Leave a Reply

