Best Blockbusters, Comedy, Horror, and Documentaries of 2015

Collages (2)

My Top ten of 2015 may be filled with Dramas and more independent cinema, but that isn’t what makes up a large percentage of what the movie going public sees, and I recognize that. So below I’ve put together what I consider the best Blockbusters, Comedies, Horror and Documentaries.

Why no foreign film best of?

This would usually be the area where I would put my favorite Foreign films of 2015 but This has been an odd year for me and foreign films. The only ones I’ve seen are “Wild Tales”, “Mommy” and “White God”. The first two of those films would be considered to most a 2014 release. All three were great films, one or two may show up on more “Best of” lists from myself. It’s quite sad that I didn’t have a chance to see “Mommy” until this year, as it is Canadian. That’s right, I am Canadian and people in OTHER COUNTRIES had a better chance of seeing a spectacular Canadian made film than myself (I’m not bitter).

If I had to rank those, it would be “Mommy” (#1), “Wild Tales” (#2) and “White God” (#3), I will attempt to watch as many of the Oscar nominated foreign films as possible.

Best Blockbuster (Action, Sci-Fi, Superhero, etc.)

I don’t know how to exactly differentiate a blockbuster from another genre of film, but you just kind of know don’t you?

The list is pretty straightforward, “Mad Max: Fury Road” is one of the best action films of the year. J.J. Abrams did terrific work bringing the force back to the big screen. “Furious 7” is another thrilling entry in the Furious franchise, and a wonderful send of for the late Paul Walker. “Jurassic World” made this huge “Jurassic PArk” fan smile even after the third time watching it. “Kingsman: The Secret Service” is the best spy film of the year, and I found “Spectre” and “The Man from U.N.C.L.E.” to be two well crafted spy films, both lacking, but providing solid entertainment.

  1. Mad Max: Fury Road
  2. Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  3. Furious 7
  4. Jurassic World
  5. Kingsman: The Secret Service
  6. Spectre
  7. The Man from U.N.C.L.E
  8. The Martian
  9. The Avengers: Age of Ultron
  10. Ant-Man

(If Everest is counted as a blockbuster, it would get the number 5 spot and push Ant-Man off)

Best Comedy

Please don’t shame me, Trainwreck didn’t bowl me over like it did so many others. I adore Amy Schumer and love almost every Apatow film, but it didn’t resonate with me quite like a couple other films did. Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed it, but it’s one I’m hoping to love on a second viewing.
“Spy” has its own issues, but it is a hilarious comedy with McCarthy giving a wonderful performance. It also has the added benefit of being released in the same year as two of Ian Fleming’s creations (James Bond in “Spectre” and “The Man from U.N.C.L.E.”)  and poked some good fun at the spy genre.

  1. Spy
  2. Mistress America
  3. Trainwreck
  4. Dope
  5. Sleeping with Other People
  6. Pitch Perfect 2
  7. Vacation
  8. What we do in the Shadows
  9. The Final Girls
  10. Sisters

Best Horror

Horror comes across as a weak year, except for the fact that my number 1 is one of the most original and scary Horror films since 2013’s “The Conjuring” . “The Final Girls” is more of a comedy with horror elements, but it’s a terrific little genre bender. “Bone Tomahawk” is a film I would like to own and watch over and over again, “The gift” walks a line between horror and drama, it is one of the more tense films of the year “The Visit” earns the 5th spot as it’s M. Night Shyamalan’s best film since 2004’s “The Village” (Which I really enjoy).

The Honorable mentions are three more horror films that Weren’t terrible, but weren’t good, so take that section with a grain of salt. Look for my “Worst of 2015” to see some Horror films I really hated from 2015.

  1. It Follows
  2. Bone Tomahawk
  3. The Final Girls
  4. The Gift
  5. The Visit

Honorable Mentions: Poltergeist, Unfriended, The Green Inferno

Best Animated Film –

The Animated film selection this year was WEAK. Besides “Inside Out”, which I didn’t completely love until a second viewing, there isn’t a film on this list I really WANT to watch again.

“Shaun the Sheep” is cute and funny and I would plop my son down in front of it in a heart beat. I got a lot out of Kaufman’s rated R, claymation film “Anomolisa”, it’s a terrific script, but I have no desire to watch it again. “The Peanuts Movie” is adorable, and captured the feeling of the old movies and show,but I have a hard time knowing who this film was for. As for “The Spongebob Movie: Sponge out of Water”, The Spongebob Squarepants loving little boy in me enjoyed it, the critic in me had many issues with it.

now as for “Home”, I completely recognize that it is not a good movie, its silly, overly colorful, loud, full of corny jokes and includes a voice performance by Steve Martin that might actually kill you. As for my wife and I, we loved it, for some reason it connected with us and we laughed, enjoyed the heartfelt moments, liked the music and loved Sheldons Jim Parsons performance and the character of “Oh”. We own it, we quote it, and we (not so) secretly love it.

  1. Inside Out
  2. Shaun The Sheep
  3. Anomolisa
  4. The Peanuts Movie
  5. TIE: Home and The Spongebob Movie: Sponge out of Water

Honorable mentions: The Boy and the World

Best Documentary

In most years I see about ten foreign films and only a couple documentaries, this year it was the opposite. There were so many Documentaries that I had to see that I ended up seeing a bunch.

The only thing I really knew about Amy Whinehouse before the documentary “Amy” were her songs “Back to Black” “Rehab” and her cover of “Valerie” and I knew she died of an overdose in 2011. I enjoyed the songs of hers I knew, but I didn’t think I liked her really. The documentary “Amy” opens the doors to her life, shows you everything, every dirty little detail, and makes you fall in love with her to the point that I definitely shed a tear at the end.

  1. Amy
  2. Tales of the Grim Sleeper
  3. Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief
  4. I am Big Bird
  5. Meru

Stay tuned for a bunch of content the month of February!


Thanks for Reading!

Follow the official The Hollywood Persona Twitter page @THPersona

Find Mitch on Twitter @mitchydaily

Like The Hollywood Persona on Facebook

 

Leave a Reply

