The Academy Award (Oscar) Nominees

by Mitch Burns


oscars-2015

Below are the Nominees for the 88th Academy Awards, which will be awarded February 28, 2016. Under each category heading I have the nominees, my thoughts, and then what I predicted along with how many I guessed wrong.

BEST PICTURE NOMINEES

“Spotlight”
“The Big Short”
“Bridge of Spies”
“Brooklyn”
“Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The Martian”
“The Revenant”
“Room”

I guessed 9 nominees, last year there were 8, but in 2012, 2013 and 2014 there were 9 nominees, and this years seemed to me, to be a year destined for 9 nominees. The Carol snub seems odd to me, I actually thought that Carol would get in before Brooklyn, but that’s the way it goes.

My Guesses:

  1. Spotlight
  2. The Revenant
  3. Mad Max: Fury Road
  4. Carol
  5. The Big Short
  6. The Martian
  7. Bridge of Spies
  8. Room
  9. Brooklyn

1 wrong guess

BEST DIRECTOR NOMINEES

Lenny Abrahamson, “Room”
Alejandro Iñárritu, “The Revenant”
George Miller, “Mad Max: Fury Road”
Tom McCarthy, “Spotlight”
Adam McKay, “The Big Short”

My thoughts: I can honestly say, I’m so happy to see Lenny Abrahamson here for Room, I just didn’t think it would happen. Abrahamson did a terrific job I thought Ridley Scott would get in, on his name alone, but I’m very happy to be wrong.

My Guesses:

  1. Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu– The Revenant
  2. Thom McCarthy – Spotlight
  3. George Miller – Mad Max: Fury Road
  4. Ridley Scott – The Martian
  5. Adam McKay – The Big Short

1 wrong guess

BEST ACTOR NOMINEES

Bryan Cranston, “Trumbo”
Matt Damon, “The Martian”
Leonardo DiCaprio, “The Revenant”
Michael Fassbender, “Steve Jobs”
Eddie Redmayne, “The Danish Girl”

My thoughts: This has been a pretty locked category for a while, to be honest you could have probably guessed this whole category last January.

  1. Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant
  2. Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl
  3. Matt Damon – the Martian
  4. Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs
  5. Bryan Cranston – Trumbo

0 wrong guesses

BEST ACTRESS NOMINEES

Cate Blanchett, “Carol”
Brie Larson, “Room”
Jennifer Lawrence, “Joy”
Charlotte Rampling, “45 Years”
Saoirse Ronan, “Brooklyn”

My thoughts: To all the Rampling deniers I say “ha ha”. This is a category, besides Lawrence, I couldn’t have guessed last year. It is full of pleasant surprises, the category itself isn’t a shocker, but I’m happy with the category.

  1. Brie Larson – Room
  2. Cate Blanchett – Carol
  3. Saorise Ronan – Brooklyn
  4. Charlotte Rampling – 45 Years
  5. Jennifer Lawrence – Joy

0 wrong guesses

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR NOMINEES

Christian Bale, “The Big Short”
Tom Hardy, “The Revenant”
Mark Ruffalo, “Spotlight”
Mark Rylance, “Bridge of Spies”
Sylvester Stallone, “Creed”

My Thoughts: I battled with this category, in my first draft I accidentally left out Rylance who was a shoe-in, because I was battling between Idris Elba (Beasts of No Nation), Jacob Tremblay (Room) and Ruffalo (Creed). I was happy with it until I realized I left Mark Rylance out (Bridge of Spies), and then Elba and Tremblay were both snubbed. I personally, hate not seeing Tremblay here, but that’s fine. I thought Hardy did a terrific job in The Revenant, but never thought he would get the nominations.

  1. Sylvester Stallone – Creed
  2. Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies
  3. Christian Bale – The Big Short
  4. Mark Ruffalo – Spotlight
  5. Jacob Tremblay – Room

1 wrong guess

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS NOMINEES

Rooney Mara, “Carol”
Jennifer Jason Leigh, “The Hateful Eight”
Alicia Vikander, “The Danish Girl”
Kate Winslet, “Steve Jobs”
Rachel McAdams, “Spotlight”

My Thoughts: I almost left Vikander out here but didn’t really have anyone to put in her place, so I left her. We all seem to have fallen in love with Vikander this year, and I don’t have a problem with it. I’m glad to see McAdams nominated as well, I think Spotlight is one of her better roles in a long time, but I think this may be Winslet’s to lose.

  1. Rooney Mara – Carol
  2. Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs
  3. Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight
  4. Alicia Vikander – The Danish Girl
  5. Rachel McAdams – Spotlight

0 Wrong Guesses

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY NOMINEES

“Spotlight,” written by Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy
“Bridge of Spies,” written by Matt Charman and Ethan Coen and Joel Coen
“Ex Machina,” written by Alex Garland
“Inside Out,” screenplay by Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley; original story by Pete Docter, Ronnie del Carmen
“Straight Outta Compton,” screenplay by Jonathan Herman and Andrea Berloff; story by S. Leigh Savidge and Alan Wenkus and Andrea Berloff

My Thoughts: I can’t believe The Hateful Eight was left out, but this being Straight Outta Compton’s only nomination, I’m fine with it.

  1. The Hateful Eight
  2. Bridge of Spies
  3. Spotlight
  4. Inside Out
  5. Ex Machina

1 wrong guess

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY NOMINEES

“The Big Short,” Charles Randolph and Adam McKay
“Brooklyn,” Nick Hornby
“Carol,” Phyllis Nagy
“The Martian,” Drew Goddard
“Room,” Emma Donoghue

My Thoughts: I was tired yesterday when I did my predictions, and I royally fucked up the Screenplay categories, luckily my friends Will Ashton and Mike Shutt pointed it out and I fixed it before the deadline. As I did with the entire Oscars, I underestimated “Brooklyn”.

  1. Steve Jobs
  2. Room
  3. The Martian
  4. Carol
  5. The Big Short

1 wrong Guess

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE NOMINEES

“Anomalisa”
“Boy and the World”
“Inside Out”
“Shaun the Sheep Movie”
“When Marnie Was There”

My Thoughts: I can’t comment on this category, I’ve haven’t seen “When Marnie was There” and I’ve never heard of “Boy and the World”. I’m surprised, but not displeased, that The Good Dinosaur was not nominated just because it is a Pixar titles. Althought, I am sad at a lack of “The Peanuts Movie.

  1. Inside Out
  2. Anomolisa
  3. Shaun The Sheep Movie
  4. The Peanuts Movie
  5. The Good Dinosaur

2 Wrong Guesses

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM NOMINEES

“Embrace of the Serpent”
“Mustang”
“Son of Saul”
“Theeb”
“A War”

  1. Son of Saul – Hungary
  2. Mustang – France
  3. The Brand New Testament – Belgium
  4. A War – Denmark
  5. Labyrinth of Lies – German

2 Wrong Guesses

BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE NOMINEES

“Amy”
“Cartel Land”
“The Look of Silence”
“What Happened, Miss Simone?”
“Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom”

My Thoughts: What was I thinking? Why did I put Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief in my predictions on my list? The Oscars aren’t going to take a stance like that.

  1. Amy
  2. The Look of Silence
  3. Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief
  4. The Hunting Ground
  5. Cartel Land

2 Wrong Guesses

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY NOMINEES

“Carol,” Ed Lachman
“The Hateful Eight,” Robert Richardson
“Mad Max: Fury Road,” John Seale
“The Revenant,” Emmanuel Lubezki
“Sicario,” Roger Deakins

  1. The Revenant
  2. Bridge of Spies
  3. Mad Max: Fury Road
  4. Sicario
  5. Carol

1 Wrong Guess

BEST FILM EDITING NOMINEES

“The Big Short,” Hank Corwin
“Mad Max: Fury Road,” Margaret Sixel
“The Revenant,” Stephen Mirrione
“Spotlight,” Tom McArdle
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens,” Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey

  1. The Revenant
  2. The Big Short
  3. Mad Max: Fury Road
  4. Spotlight
  5. The Martian

1 Wrong Guess

BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN NOMINEES

“Bridge of Spies,” Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Rena DeAngelo and Bernhard Henrich
“The Danish Girl,” Production Design: Eve Stewart ; Set Decoration: Michael Standish
“Mad Max: Fury Road,” Production Design: Colin Gibson; Set Decoration:  Lisa Thompson
“The Martian,” Production Design: Arthur Max ;Set Decoration: Celia Bobak
“The Revenant,” Production Design: Jack Fisk; Set Decoration: Hamish Purdy

My Thoughts: I think Carol not getting a nomination here is almost a snub, the Cinderella omission is just fine.

  1. Mad Max: Fury Road
  2. Bridge of Spies
  3. Carol
  4. The Danish Girl
  5. Cinderella

2 Wrong Guesses

BEST COSTUME DESIGN NOMINEES

“Carol,” Sandy Powell
“Cinderella,” Sandy Powell
“The Danish Girl,” Paco Delgado
“Mad Max: Fury Road,” Jenny Beavan
“The Revenant,” Jacqueline West

My Thoughts: Personally, I’d give The Revenant the nomination over Bridge of Spies every time, and truth be told Jacqueline West did a terrific job.

  1. Cinderella
  2. Bridge of Spies
  3. Carol
  4. The Danish Girl
  5. Mad Max: Fury Road

1 wrong guess

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE NOMINEES

“Bridge of Spies,” Thomas Newman
“Carol,” Carter Burwell
“The Hateful Eight,” Ennio Morricone
“Sicario,” Jóhann Jóhannsson
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens,” John Williams

My Thoughts: I should have stuck with my gut, Jóhannsson’s score for Sicario was wonderfully eerie and set the mood for the film well.

  1. Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  2. Bridge of Spies
  3. The Hateful Eight
  4. The Danish Girl
  5. Carol

1 Wrong Guess

BEST ORIGINAL SONG NOMINEES

“Earned It,” “Fifty Shades of Grey,” Music and Lyric by Abel Tesfaye, Ahmad Balshe, Jason Daheala Quenneville and Stephan Moccio
“Manta Ray,” “Racing Extinction,” Music by J. Ralph; Lyric by Antony Hegarty
“Simple Song 3,” “Youth,” Music and Lyric by David Lang
“Til it Happens to You,” “The Hunting Ground,” Music and Lyric by Diane Warren and Lady Gaga
“Writing’s on the Wall,” “Spectre,” Music and Lyric by Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith

My Thoughts: In my honest opinion, See You Again not being nominated is fucking ridiculous. A number one top billboard hit for 12 weeks, Wiz Kalifa’s biggest song ever and one written in the memory of the late Paul Walker? That’s a huge disappointment. A friend of mine, Travis, commented on how it feels like another situation, The song “Alone Yet Not Alone” from the film of the same name which was nominated at last years Oscars and then disqualified later. I don’t see that happening again, but it still feels very off.

As my Friend Will Ashton put it ” Is “See You Again” this year’s Lego Movie?

  1. See You Again – Furious 7
  2. Love Me Like You Do – Fifty Shades of Grey
  3. Simple Song 3 – Youth
  4. Writings on the Wall – Sam Smith
  5. ‘Til it Happens to you – Diane Warren and Lady Gaga

2 Wrong Guesses

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS NOMINEES

“Ex Machina,” Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett
“Mad Max: Fury Road,” Andrew Jackson, Tom Wood, Dan Oliver and Andy Williams
“The Martian,” Richard Stammers, Anders Langlands, Chris Lawrence and Steven Warner
“The Revenant,” Rich McBride, Matthew Shumway, Jason Smith and Cameron Waldbauer
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens,” Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan and Chris Corbould

My Thoughts: I went with my gut, The Academy tends to nominate one stupid popcorn CGI fest, and Jurassic World felt like it this year, Glad Ex Machina recieved it though

  1. Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  2. Mad Max: Fury road
  3. The Martian
  4. Jurassic World
  5. The Revenant

1 wrong guess

BEST MAKEUP & HAIRSTYLING NOMINEES

“Mad Max: Fury Road,” Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega and Damian Martin
“The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out a Window and Disappeared,” Love Larson and Eva von Bahr
“The Revenant,” Siân Grigg, Duncan Jarman and Robert Pandini

My Thoughts: Well, I’m not saying Black Mass not recieving a nom is a bad thing, but what the hell is “The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out a Window and Disappeared,”…

  1. Mad Max: Fury Road
  2. The Revenant
  3. Black Mass

1 wrong guess

BEST SOUND MIXING NOMINEES

“Bridge of Spies,” Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Drew Kunin
“Mad Max: Fury Road,” Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo
“The Martian,” Paul Massey, Mark Taylor and Mac Ruth
“The Revenant,” Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, Randy Thom and Chris Duesterdiek
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens,” Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson

  1. Mad Max: Fury Road
  2. Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  3. The Revenant
  4. The Martian
  5. Straight Outta Compton

1 Wrong Guess

BEST SOUND EDITING NOMINEES

“Mad Max: Fury Road,” Mark Mangini and David White
“The Martian,” Oliver Tarney
“The Revenant,” Martin Hernandez and Lon Bender
“Sicario,” Alan Robert Murray
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens,” Matthew Wood and David Acord

  1. Mad Max: Fury Road
  2. Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  3. The Revenant
  4. The Martian
  5. Straight Outta Compton

1 wrong guess

I predicted nominees for 21 categories, 5 nominees in each category, excluding Best Picture (8) and Makeup (3). I didn’t predict The short film categories. I made 23 wrong guess in total.


Thanks for Reading!

Find Mitch on Twitter @mitchydaily

Like The Hollywood Persona on Facebook

Follow the official The Hollywood Persona Twitter page @THPersona

Leave a Reply

