Mitch’s
Most Anticipated Movies
Of 2012
It has been 2012 for over a month now, and it’s about time I compile my list of the movies that I am most excited for. Most of these movies have big stars, are based on great books or are sequels to already awesome movies. These are the movies I have high hopes for this year, and I’m crossing my fingers that they don’t let me down! The Pictures I have included are either the most recent picture, or the official movie poster. 


So, starting with #20 here is my most anticipated movies of 2012:

20. The Bourne Legacy
What IMDB says: A story centered on a new CIA operative in the universe based on Robert Ludlum’s novels.


Why I’m excited: The Bourne movies are great, but Matt Damon out grew the role. Jeremy Renner Takes over the lead role in this movie, and even though he has already proven himself a worthy action star in Mission Impossible 4, he should be a household name after The Bourne Legacy and The Avengers, both out this summer. Also starring: Edward Norton, Rachel Weisz, Joan Allen, Oscar Isaac, and David Strathairn. 

19. Gravity

What IMDB says: The lone survivor of a space mission to repair the Hubble telescope desperately tries to return to Earth and reunite with her daughter.


Why I’m Excited: Geroge Clooney and Sandra Bullock are the stars, It’s set in space and the direct of Children Of Men & Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban directs! you can’t ask for any better ingredients! 


18. Dog Fight
Two rival South Carolina politicians with presidential aspirations tangle with one another.


Why I’m excited: The description from IMDB makes is sound like an Oscar worthy presidential campaign movie, but it’s not. The movie stars Will Ferrel and Zack Galifianakis as the two politicians, it also stars SNL’s Jason Sudeikis, Dylan McDermott, John Lithgow and Dan Akroyd. This will be one comedy to watch for this year.


17. Snow White and The Huntsman
In a twist to the fairy tale, the Huntsman ordered to take Snow White into the woods to be killed winds up becoming her protector and mentor in a quest to vanquish the Evil Queen.


Why I’m excited: Before Kristen Stewart became a Bella from Twilight, I used to actually admire her and I can’t wait for her to run from that role faster than the speed of light. Snow White and the Huntsman looks like it could do that, it also stars Chris Hemsworth, who proved himself a good action star last summer in Thor. The best part of the movie though will be Charlize Theron as the Evil Queen. The movie looks pumped full of action and cool CGI, the trailer is out and you can watch it buy clicking here 



16. Dark Shadows

A gothic-horror tale centering on the life of vampire Barnabas Collins and his run-ins with various monsters, witches, werewolves and ghosts. Based on the cult TV series.


Why I’m excited: Johnny Depp stars as a vampire, and Tim Burton directs, that’s all I have to say really but I also could say that Michelle Pfeiffer, Chloe Grace Moretz and Eva Green co-star but you were already sold weren’t you? 


15. Neighborhood Watch

Suburban dads form a neighborhood watch group to get time away from their families, only to discover a plot to destroy Earth


Why I’m Excited: I think Vince Vaughn is hilarious, one of the funniest, but his last few movie choices haven’t been ideal, but Neighborhood Watch looks like it could be really good, it also stars Ben Stiller, Billy Crudup, Will Forte and Academy Award Nominee Jonah Hill (I really wanted to do that).


14. Brave

Determined to make her own path in life, Princess Merida defies a custom that brings chaos to her kingdom. Granted one wish, Merida must rely on her bravery and her archery skills to undo a beastly curse.


Why I’m excited: So what, Pixar messed up last year making Cars 2, it was bound to happen. Pixar is back in action this year with a new movie original film about a red headed girl in Scotland, and I can’t wait to see what Pixar has up it’s sleeve. Watch the trailer here




13. Django Unchained

With the help of his mentor, a slave-turned-bounty hunter sets out to rescue his wife from a brutal Mississippi plantation owner.


Why I’m excited: There are so many reasons to be excited, Quentin Tarantino directs and wrote the script and he’s bringing out an A-list cast: Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Leonardo DiCaprio, Jamie Foxx, Samuel L. Jackson, Sacah Baron Cohen, Kerry Washington, Kurt Russel, and my favorite from Inglorious Basterds, Christoph Waltz. plus the plot seems like plenty of opportunity for Tarantino to be violent like in Basterds. 


12. The Gangster Squad

A chronicle of the LAPD’s fight to keep East Coast Mafia types out of Los Angeles in the 1940s and 50s.


Why I’m excited: Looks like a cool story with a great cast: Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone, Sean Penn, Nick Nolte, Josh Brolin, Giovanni Ribisi.




11. The Amazing Spider-Man

Peter Parker finds a clue that might help him understand why his parents disappeared when he was young. His path puts him on a collision course with Dr. Curt Connors, his father’s former partner.


Why I’m Excited: Too be honest, I wasn’t excited, nut after watching the trailer yesterday I am. This Spider-Man looks like the movie the other Spider-Man movies should have been! Starting off with two actors I like, Andrew Garfield (The social Network) and Emma Stone, add in Dennis Leary, Rhys Ifan, Sally Field, and Martin Sheen. Also there is a villian that might actually scary if not impressive to look at, which is the lizard. watch the trailer here!




10. Men In Black 3

Agent J travels in time to MIB’s early years in the 1960s, to stop an alien from assassinating his friend Agent K and changing history.


Why I’m Excited: Let’s face it, this movie should have been made a while ago. Why they stopped after the second movie I’ll never know. Will Smith & Tommy Lee Jones, two of my favorites, fighting Aliens and Will Smith time traveling back to the 60’s so that Josh Brolin can do an awesome impression of Tommy Lee Jones, sounds great to me! 
Watch the trailer here


9. The Avengers

Nick Fury and the international agency S.H.I.E.L.D. bring together a team of super humans to form The Avengers to help save the Earth from Loki & his various membered army.


Why I’m excited: This one is pretty obvious, take four superheroes (Thor, The Hulk, Captain America and Iron Man) and put them together? it’s going to be great. I find the super hero movies need to do things like this because I’m getting quite sick of them, but I’m fairly certain this will be good.
Watch the trailer here




8. Skyfall

Bond’s loyalty to M is tested as her past comes back to haunt her. As MI6 comes under attack, 007 must track down and destroy the threat, no matter how personal the cost.


Why I’m excited: It’s James Bond, that’s why. and it’s already been 4 years since the last one and that’s way too long. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo only made me want a new James Bond more!



7. Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

President Lincoln’s mother is killed by a supernatural creature, which fuels his passion to crush vampires and their slave-owning helpers.


Why I’m excited: It’s original, and different. It’s Abraham Lincoln Killing vampires and I can’t wait. 


6. This Is 40

A look at the lives of Pete and Debbie a few years after the events of Knocked Up.


Why I’m Excited: Pete (Paul Rudd) and Debbie (Leslie Mann) were hilarious in knocked up, and they are getting there own spin-off! Judd Apatow, who directed Knocked Up and 40 Year Old Virgin, will direct this one again and a whole bunch of stars are joining Rudd and Mann, like Melissa McCarthy, Megan Fox, Jason Segel, Albert Brooks, and John Lithgow. 






5. World War Z

A U.N. employee is racing against time and fate, as he travels the world trying to stop the outbreak of a deadly Zombie pandemic.


Why I’m Excited: It’s Brad Pitt in a zombie movie, based on a great book, from the director of  Finding Neverland. I think that right there is a good recipe. 




4. Prometheus

A team of explorers discover a clue to the origins of mankind on Earth, leading them on a journey to the darkest corners of the universe. There, they must fight a terrifying battle to save the future of the human race.


Why I’m excited: It’s a movie set in space, it has some sort of alien creatures, it’s directed by Ridley Scott who directed the first Alien movie and it could be a prequel of some sort to Alien. The rumors are still flying about how it will be connected to the Alien movies, but either way it will be a good movie. The cast is also spectacular, Prometheus stars Michael Fassbender (X-Men First Class), Noomi Rapace (The Swedish versions of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo), Charlize Theron, Idris Elba, Guy Pearce, and Patrick Wilson. I’m very pumped. 












My Three most anticipated movies of 2012 are so big and so highly anticipated they take the top three spots, They are my #1, 2 and 3.
I am not excited for one more than the other and I will be in line to see all three on the first day. they are as follows, in no specific order:




The Dark Knight Rises      



The Hunger Games                 



The Hobbit:                                                                                
An Unexpected Journey





Thanks for reading!


-Mitch Burns
















Leave a Reply

