So the 2010 Oscar nominations were announced yesterday, and if haven’t heard these are the ten films nominated for best picture….

• “Black Swan” Mike Medavoy, Brian Oliver and Scott Franklin, Producers
• “The Fighter” David Hoberman, Todd Lieberman and Mark Wahlberg, Producers
• “Inception” Emma Thomas and Christopher Nolan, Producers
• “The Kids Are All Right” Gary Gilbert, Jeffrey Levy-Hinte and Celine Rattray, Producers
• “The King’s Speech” Iain Canning, Emile Sherman and Gareth Unwin, Producers
• “127 Hours” Christian Colson, Danny Boyle and John Smithson, Producers
• “The Social Network” Scott Rudin, Dana Brunetti, Michael De Luca and Ceán Chaffin, Producers
• “Toy Story 3” Darla K. Anderson, Producer
• “True Grit” Scott Rudin, Ethan Coen and Joel Coen, Producers
• “Winter’s Bone” Anne Rosellini and Alix Madigan-Yorkin, Producers

Now I when the nominations were announced I had only seen seven of the ten nominations, Black Swan, The Fighter, Inception, The Kids Are All Right, The Social Network, Toy Story 3 and True Grit. Since they were announced I have finished the list, watching 127 Hours, Winter’s Bone, and The King’s Speech.

I have given Reviews on Black Swan, The Fighter, Inception, The Social Network, and Toy Story. I am going to give some short reviews on the other five movies I haven’t reviewed yet, plus a bonus review on Blue Valentine, which I just watched today.

True Grit – ***** (out of five stars)

I saw True Grit with my father, the original True Grit was released in theatres 1969 and it was the first movie he ever saw in theatres. I have never seen the original, or not all of it anyways, so I can’t really do a comparison like most reviewers are.
Only the Coen Brothers can remake a western, receive 10 Oscar nominations and make it one of my favorite movies of the year. Jeff Bridges is wonderful, Matt Damon and Josh Brolin play their parts well and newcomer Hailee Steinfeld steals the show and definitely deserved her Oscar nomination (same goes for Jeff Bridges who is slowly becoming my favorite actor). The movie is great, action packed, thrilling, I thought it might be (for lack of a better word) grittier, but it worked. My dad said, walking out of the theatre, “the best movie I have seen since 1969”.

127 Hours – ****1/2 (out of five)

You have probably heard much about 127 Hours, and you probably even know how it ends, but it is still completely worth watching. It is about 90 minutes long, and he gets trapped under that boulder pretty darn quick, but that is when the story really gets rolling. With hallucinations, video recordings, flashbacks and lots of talking to himself there is a lot to keep us entertained. It is very emotional, and the last 25 minutes are so emotional, and wonderful. If Colin Firth weren’t in the lead actor category at the Oscars this year, James Franco would have the award hands down.

The King’s Speech- ****1/2 (out of five)

I was supposed to see the Kings Speech like two weeks ago, right after I saw Black Swan, but my lovely fiancé said she couldn’t stand to sit through a movie about a king in 1936 with a speech impediment. In a way, I kind of agreed with Ashley at the time, and we skipped out on seeing it. Last night I ended up watching it, when I saw how long it was at the beginning I was so worried I was in for a bore fest, but it was not. Not only is it a story about King George’s stammer and how he treats it, it also tells the story of how he got to the thrown and from his Fathers death, to his brothers short reign as king, and so on. It really is a marvelous movie, and I was actually quite entertained.
Colin Firth is just amazing, and deserves the Oscar. I don’t see how he could play this role, there were lines where he was stammering, and I assume he just wanted to yell it all out. I am glad that Colin Firth did such a wonderful job, because Geoffrey Rush almost steals the show. I have hardly seen Geoffrey Rush in anything but the Pirates Of The Caribbean movies, but he was amazing. So is Helena Bonham Carter for the small time she is in it. You may not know these actors when written but they have all been in many movies, Colin Firth (Bridget Jones Diaries, Mamma Mia), Geoffrey Rush (Pirates) and Helena Bonham Carter (Bellatrix Lestrange in harry Potter and also married to Tim Burton).

Winter’s Bone – **** (out of five stars)

Winter’s Bone is about a 17 year old girl who lives in the boonies (and I mean the dirty boonies), with her little sister and brother and her mama who Is pretty much brain dead. She is pretty much raising her siblings because her father is a meth addict and being chased by the law. When a police officer tells her that if her father isn’t found she (and her family) will be kicked out of their home. So the girl literally goes door to door, and all around the most dangerous and scary town know to man to try and track down her father.
Jennifer Lawrence does a wonderful job in her break out role, in one of the grittiest movies all year. At first I wasn’t sure what to think about this movie, but now that I take some time and think about it, it really was wonderful, and insightful. I loved it, unfortunately Jennifer Lawrence and her co-star John Hawkes, who were both nominated for acting Oscars, are up against to many big contenders to actually will.

Blue Valentine – ** (out of five stars)

Michelle Williams is up for lead actress, and her costar Ryan Gosling has been nominated for many awards also, because this is one of those movies where their acting is SO good, that it’s hard to tell they are really acting. It’s like your watching a story unfold in front of your eyes, it’s like these are actually people going through this.
Unfortunately, they are acting in a movie that is so boring, dreary and unentertaining that I just couldn’t fully immerse myself in the story. By the end of the movie I almost didn’t care what happened to the characters, except for the couples adorable daughter. People may say I am not a good critic if I didn’t like this movie, it seems as if every other critic did (with a 89% rating on Rotten Tomatoes), but I just didn’t like this movie and you would have to pay me to see it again.

That is all, I hopefully am going to try and see a few more nominated movies before the Oscars, like Biutiful (Javier Bardem, best actor), Animal Kingdom (Jackie Weaver, best actress) and Rabbit Hole (Nicole Kidman, Best Actress). If I do see these movies I will post a review, and the day before the Oscars I will post my picks of who I think will win.

Thanks for reading ☺

Mitchell Burns

Leave a Reply

