Tonight I went to the the theatre and saw a movie, for the first time in almost two months. Which is a long time for me. I have been wanting to see The Social Network for quite some time, especially after hearing rave reviews, after seeing it was at 97% on Rotten Tomatoes, and it potentially being the movie of our generation. I am quite a Facebook addict, so seeing the backstory of my favourite website was quite intriguing.

Sean Parker (Justin Timberlake) and Mark Zuckerberg (Jesse Eisenberg)

I loved it. I was already a huge fan of David Fincher’s work and almost had forgotten he was directing The Social Network. David Fincher has directed some of Hollywoods best movies. I find that most people forget about him, but when you look at his credentials you will see he has quite a impressive resume. for example, Fight Club, The Curious Case Of Benjamin Buttons, Panic Room, Zodiac, Se7en, and Alien 3. He is currently directing an American version of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo with Daniel Craig and Stellan Skarsgard. Being a fan of Fincher’s I could tell that The Social Network was his work, Fincher has a way of taking a long story and keeping it long, but still captivate you through out the whole movie. When I think back to Benjamin Button, I remember how long it is, but the only reason I realized it was long was because my friend commented on the length. The Social Network rings in at over 2 hours long, and for a movie with a LOT of dialogue that can be a long movie. But it works…

The Cinematography was awesome, whether it be a rowing competition to a dance club scene, the movie was well polished. The writing was great, and characters were very well developed. I am not sure if it is easier or harder to develop or write for a character that is real, but either way every character was well developed and intriguing.

Eduardo Saverin (played by Andrew Garfield) and Mark Zuckerberg (played by Jesse Eisenberg)

Jesse Eisenberg (Mark Zuckerberg) did a good job, the movie obviously was all about him but I am glad it did not focus on him entirely. I would have gotten a little bored I think. I found the actor portraying Zuckerberg’s “friend” Eduardo Saverin (Andrew Garfield) to be very entertaining. I am just learning now that Garfield is scheduled to be the new Spider-man, which makes me a a little bit excited for the new Web shooting franchise. Justin Timberlake doesn’t arrive until almost halfway through the movie, but he is very enticing as Sean Parker, the (Now broke) creator of Napster who changes everything for Zuckerberg and Facebook, and I think Facebook would not have been as big of a success if it weren’t for Parker.

In the end I found that I could have watched more, I wanted to know more. I was left asking more questions (some of which I state below), that being the movies only flaw. I feel like a big round of applause goes to David Fincher for making a movie that is Stunning and exciting. a movie that is wonderfully fun, but also educational. A movie that tells us the story that could have come across as boring, but never is.

Questions I had after watching “The Social Network” answered:

Are Eduardo Saverin and Mark Zuckerberg friends now?

-No they are not, and Eduardo owns 5% of the company making him a billionaire still. In the movie, even though Saverin is suing Zuckerberg, it still seems like there friendship could survive. but it looks like it didn’t.

Does Sean Parker sill work for Facebook?

-yes he does and he owns 4-6% of the company.

Is Napster even still around?

-I just found out it is :s

Leave a Reply

